Home / Introduction
Public Technical and Career School/Center Accreditation

The NEASC Committee on Technical and Career Institutions (NEASC-CTCI) accredits comprehensive technical high schools and career centers throughout New England. Accreditation is achieved by applying the Standards of Accreditation through a deliberate process of voluntary self-regulation and peer review. The Committee’s evaluation and accreditation activities focus on secondary institutions whose mission is career and technical in nature. At the postsecondary level, non-degree granting institutions are currently included in the Committee’s scope. 

At the core of the accreditation are the teams of volunteer educators representing career and technical institutions from New England who visit schools or centers on a regular cycle. The peer reviewers function as “critical friends” who provide commendations and recommendations in partnership to support the institution’s improvement process. During the on-site evaluations, Visiting Teams conduct direct observation of a school's practices and interview key constituents (students, teachers, administrators, parents, community representatives, business partners) in order to validate the school/center's Self-Study. A Visiting Team Report is produced which includes detailed analysis of each academic and technical program, as well as an analysis of the school or center’s practices relative to the NEASC Standards. It is vitally important to note the formative nature of the team’s visit and report. 


Our Story

In 1968, the then Executive Committee of NEASC appointed an ad hoc committee to survey vocational, technical education in the six New England states to determine if the need existed for an accreditation process to serve that community of institutions. Following an intensive two-year study, the ad hoc committee in 1970 recommended to the Executive Committee that a Commission on Vocational, Technical Institutions be created. The Executive Committee favorably acted upon the recommendation, and the Commission was established effective December 2, 1970. The Executive Committee, in consultation with the ad hoc committee and the [former] Commission on Institutions of Higher Education, determined that the purview of the new Commission would be secondary (9-12 and 9-PG) and postsecondary institutions (non-degree and associate degree). The name of the Commission was officially changed to add the word "Career" on December 7, 1975. A further name change was approved in 1992 when it became the Commission on Technical and Career Institutions. In 1994, the Commission was granted baccalaureate degree jurisdiction for institutions that offer a baccalaureate degree and whose mission remains career and technical in nature. In 2002 it was determined that all degree granting postsecondary institutions would move to the [former] Commission on Institutions of Higher Education over a five-year transition period. That process was completed in December 2008.

"Working in CTE is a lot of fun because of the variety of programs offered and the high level of student engagement and enthusiasm about their chosen fields. Kids are out and about applying their academic and technical skills and concepts in the real world. I’m fortunate to work with schools and centers on their improvement plans and always eager to share the students’ accomplishments."

Bruce Sievers, Associate Director, NEASC-CPS